Did you plant a tree today?

Winnersh_Meadows_Trees

On Earth Day every year my children and I plant a tree or some sort of plant. We have been doing this for 7 years, since my son was 2 and my daughter was an infant. Today we did not plant anything.  When the kids got home we did our normal routine.  We had snack time, then they had their normal 1 hour break before homework.  We talked about recycling for a while and my son suggested we go out and pick up garbage on the roads, but we didn’t.  Homework, I don’t know about you but my kids love to try to get out of doing homework, so after 15 minutes of why we need to do homework and not procrastinate, they start on homework.  Then they do their daily reading for 30 minutes. Dinner was started. After dinner they took showers and watched some TV.  Then bedtime.

I had felt bad  earlier when I realized we didn’t plant anything this year, but we are about to move.  I guess we could have planted one in a pot, but we didn’t.  Would they notice?  Yes, yes they did notice.  “Mom, why didn’t we plant a tree, it’s earth day”, my son says as I am putting them into bed.  Then my daughter chimes in, “Yeah, we were supposed to plant something!”  “We need to plant something at the new house and pretend its Earth Day”.  “That sounds like a great idea”, I say in guilt in m heart.

I guess we will have to plant something this weekend while we go do some work at the new house.  I have some flowers to be transplanted and taken over there too. So they will enjoy pretending its Earth Day later this weekend.

Leave a comment